Long Name, Great Game

Demons aren't all bad.

Demons aren't all bad.

So I felt the need to come to the defense of a game that I have been playing, because yahoo felt the need to poke fun at it. The name of the game is quite long and absurd, but it is actually a lot of fun. Just like product names from Sony, Toshiba, and Samsung often have ridiculously long names, “Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Summoner: Raidou Kuzunoha vs. The Soulless Army” takes the cake for needless title space.

However, after actually playing the second game (“Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Summoner 2: Raidou Kuzunoha vs. King Abaddon”) for a while I have come to like how different it is from more traditional RPGs in that the battle system hurt my head at first, and I actually had to think about how to survive. I don’t think that’s ever happened in a Final Fantasy game for me, like ever. Even though Square Enix runs the RPG show, Atlus created a deep, immersive game that is full of traditional Japanese mythology and culture that is more than enough to keep me and my short attention span happy.

While the dialog may be a bit much during the game, and often corny, the battle system and its quirks keep me playing. You have to stay on your toes, watch your MAG points, and take advantage of enemy weaknesses to even survive one battle. Being able to summon two demons to help you sounds like a lot to manage at first, but once you get serious about progressing, it becomes addictive.

I haven’t finished the game yet, so I don’t know where all parts of the ridiculous name come into play, but I am determined to finish and figure it out, because its so much fun to play.

PLUS you get a cute Raidoh Kuzunoha plush. Bonus!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

