Rainy Day: SoHo & Skaters Edition

_MG_4265

I felt restless today since I didn’t make a reservation at Calle Ocho for brunch earlier this week. It took me a while to get out of bed, but I had it in my mind to make it to SoHo to take pictures of cool people. I moseyed along to 49th caught the N down to Prince. When I got off the train, I saw the fabulous Elizabeth in a train car, and rejoiced when she came out. We always have fun! She was in the mood for a gyro, so once we were topside, we stopped at a cart right next to Dean & Deluca.

While she was ordering her food, I saw a guy pass by, and he had this really cool skater style. I ended up asking him if I could take a few pics of him, and he was happy to smile for the camera. He asked if I was a photographer (yes) and if I went to school here (NYU!) and we talked for a few.

_MG_4205

After that, Elizabeth and I meandered our way to her new place on Mott in Chinatown. The hustle and bustle of Chinatown is a sight to see, but not exactly something you wanna smell after its been raining off and on all week. Blah. I can’t wait to have mimosas with her for brunch at her place soon!

I then set out to scope out more cool folks in SoHo, so I walked back up Greene to Prince and wandered around there for a while. Saw some cool kids outside of KidRobot (where all the cool kids shop). I got a little bored, since there weren’t many things going on there today, so I walked to Washington Square Park. It was ALIVE there! Kids were playing in the fountain, people were chattering, and performers were doing their thing. Since it was so humid out, no one was in a rush to go anywhere, so it was a real chill scene. I snapped a few pics there, and walked up Broadway to Union Square to see more people.

The first person that stuck out there was a girl with chinchillas on her head. Yes. Chinchillas! I pretty much wanted one on the spot, but then I thought about how they are a big rodent at the end of the day. I’d prefer a pet chameleon anyways. There were a few cool looking people and couples there, and it was fun to see people enjoying the summer showers. There was a man there that made an amazing sand painting on the ground, and he drew a huge crowd. I wonder if I could do something cool like that?

From there, I walked to 23rd, and realized that though my camera is ‘weatherproof’, its not quite waterproof. I caught the train up to 49th, and saw that the sky had opened. I saw tourists put their cameras into their bags, but since I didn’t have one, I panicked for a brief second. A lightbulb went off in my head, and I walked to the McDonald’s nearby and got a sweet tea…knowing they’d put it in a plastic bag. I put my camera in the bag and sipped my sweet tea all the way home…..!

Tagged , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Rainy Day: SoHo & Skaters Edition

  1. Excellent site, keep up the good work

  2. work at home says:

    Excellent site, keep up the good work

  3. Great site…keep up the good work.

  4. Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,

    A definite great read…

    -Bill-Bartmann

Leave a Reply

