50mm Fun + Little Shop of WHORERS!

_MG_5376

Today I got a present in the mail in the form of a new 50mm 1.4 lens from Amazon. It is pretty much the best thing to happen to my camera. It is taking some getting used to not being able to zoom in and out, but the thing focuses crazy fast, makes amazing bokeh, and produces pictures with beautiful variances in depth of field. It is going to take some time to figure out a good method to balance the blurryness and focus with this new lens, but its already producing really cool shots with a lot of mood and life to them.

I took some shots in the studio at work with Jhaye, and they turned out great! The orchid came back to life! Later I took the train to Union Square and saw some cool skate kids on my walk to school. I took pictures all throughout Materials for fun, and to make sure I know how to do things later (I am improving my man skills!) I made a cool double moon sculpture! Maddy and Emeri made this fantastic surfer dude, Elizabeth perfected a rounded display, and the tooth, headphones, and scissors made by other students gave us a run for our money. Peter taught us all about woodworking today, which was fun + scary. He knows lots of cool techniques! Lets hope next week’s assignment, making a wood picture frame, is a success! Enjoy the fotos!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

