Saturday Sights at the Met

Chris, Shekar, and I switched it up and did something different on Saturday. Instead of the usual shopping and foolery on the weekend, we decided to go to the Met. I have been to MoMa and the Guggenheim here, as well as a couple smaller museums in the city, but I had never been to the Met before. I figured I wasn’t a real New Yorker unless I had been there. I ended up having such a great time that I got a membership so I can keep coming back to see new things.

I was most intrigued by the Egyptian exhibits, since their civilization was unparalleled. However, as per my feelings with zoos, nothing in there belongs here. If I were a pharaoh, I would be highly upset that my grave and my wife and belongings now sat somewhere for millions of eyes to gawk at. Also, if I were a current Egyptian, I would be highly upset my national treasures were somewhere completely different and alien. I dunno, maybe they want the Rosetta stone back sometime, or maybe their mummies. Just sayin.

At any rate, I had a blast there taking pictures and seeing things. The shapes and materials people used to make things fascinated me and got me thinking of new creative things to try out with my own art.

Enough with words! Soak in the sights!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

