A Splash of Spring

I was up in the middle of the night tonight, and saw a cool photo online of a water droplet creating a ripple effect in a pond. It inspired me to try and do the same thing: which proved to be no easy task.

I set up a plastic bag filled with water and poked a hole in it with a pin and suspended it over bowl of water in my kitchen with a cool blue and green background on the counter and got to work. I fidgeted with the shutter speed and aperture for a while, but looked online for a ballpark of what I should be doing. It turns out that a shutter speed of 1/60 of a second, coupled with an aperture of 22 does the trick pretty well. Here are my first few attempts to freeze a bouncing drop of water.

I need to work on the timing and focusing some, but these turned out pretty cool for being something done on a sleepless night.

Tagged , , , ,

4 thoughts on “A Splash of Spring

  1. Benji says:

    Wow! Great Job capturing the water!

  2. j9 says:

    these are gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

